Doesn't Not Compute

My log of experiences with GNU/Linux and computers in general.

Acer Aspire One A0751h: Part Five

Acer Aspire One 751hFor various reasons which may or may not be related to wanting to try something new and shiny before the servers get overloaded in 8 days :mrgreen:, I have installed Ubuntu 9.10 beta on this computer via a netboot iso image, and gone through the painful process of getting the Poulsbo chipset drivers from Jaunty to work with it. (More on that in a later post.) Everything Linux-related I’ve mentioned previously still applies however, and I *will* be going back to Arch. I simply find that Ubuntu makes figuring out what I want to do much easier. 🙂

Although we can configure the font sizes manually, this gets to be a pain. It is much easier to just specify a DPI setting for Xorg to use, and let the font sizes be configured from that. For 1366×768, a DPI setting of 100 is satisfactory for me, so in Ubuntu I create a file:

/etc/init.d/xsession

and add a line:

DPI="-dpi 100"

The biggest place I’ve seen this be helpful in is the Netsurf browser, where font size configuration is otherwise a royal, useless pain. It helps the overall appearance as well, however.

I wasn’t paying attention to screen real estate when I made this change, but I’m very certain that I gained some space from it. A happy accident. 😀

I pulled this from Mozilla’s article on configuring the font sizes in their browser software, and it stated that this tweak is for Debian-based distros. If anyone says that this works in Arch, I’ll add that here — otherwise, I’ll find out myself when I try it on my Arch desktop.

Which reminds me, it’s about time for me to update my Hardware page… 😐

6 responses to “Acer Aspire One A0751h: Part Five

  1. Paula Coleman November 16, 2009 at 12:17 am

    I just waant you to know that I think my a075 is haunted. It is all over the place. It changes web links anytime it wants. The font size just like rigth now,. It has gotten so small I can hardly see it. I got off on a bad start and it had to be restored twicr right after I got it and I thought I could up date to Windows Seven without any charge and it turned out not to be the case. It makes me scream all the time jumping arouned. Anyone else had this problem or is my laptop on recall? Paula Coleman HELP

    • mulenmar November 21, 2009 at 6:37 am

      I had the same unpleasant discovery on the Vista-to-Seven upgrade — very annoying that this is one of the few models for which it isn’t free.

      Are you using Windows? This really is a Linux blog, and as I don’t have Vista installed on my AO751h anymore, I’m not sure how much I can help you. Sorry!

  2. boot November 19, 2009 at 5:03 am

    Acer Aspire One AOD250-1165
    This model is fairly new. So it has the usual features, i.e. built in wi-fi, camera, 160 GB drive, etc, etc. This is the 3 hr battery model. I have no idea where Amazon gets their tech specs. We just bought this and the manual states that it comes with 1 GB of RAM, and is upgradeable to 2 GB. It recognized 4 wireless connections in my area the instant it was powered on. So far it’s great for what it was bought for, the internet, small low demand games, music, simple word processing…

  3. Saro December 4, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Did you get Suspend work with Ubuntu and Poulsbo ? I have 9.10 installed in mine. Supend/Resume and battery indicator doesnt work and its annoying.

    • mulenmar December 8, 2009 at 12:11 am

      I’ve long since reinstalled Arch on this machine, but as I recall, I had no problems with the battery indicator or with Suspend (to memory)/resume. I don’t remember if Suspend-to-Disk worked, or if it would resume. I know I don’t have it working on Arch. 😦

  4. Pingback: Acer Aspire One A0751h: Part Six « Doesn't Not Compute

Leave a Reply

