Doesn't Not Compute

My log of experiences with GNU/Linux and computers in general.

10 Years On . . . On What??

I’m not a fan of blogging for the sake of blogging. It’s just “a tale told by an idiot . . . signifying nothing,” and is at best just a waste of time and bandwidth to post for the sake of posting. Which is why occasionally there are stretches of a week or more without me posting anything. 😉

I’ve gotten tired of wrestling with the “Poulsbo” hardware in my netbook, and the project I’m working on isn’t quite ready for me to talk about yet. So, I haven’t really had anything to talk about. But today, I came across an article on Free Software Magazine that I think deserves some attention.

The title, “10 Years On: Free Software Wins, But You Have Nowhere To Install It” is a decent summary of the article. Tom Mobily, the founder and Editor-in-Chief of the Free Software Magazine, discusses how the future — and even the present — of mobile-device-based free software is very disturbing; although the software itself is free, open-source software, the devices don’t allow you to CHANGE the software installed and require you to HACK the device just so YOU can control the device that YOU PAID FOR.

http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/columns/10_years_free_software_wins_you_have_nowhere_install_it

Short URL: http://fsmsh.com/3371

I’d give an excerpt, but ironically the copyright license the article uses only explicitly permits “Verbatim copying and distribution of this entire article” (emphasis mine). 😦

So, my thoughts on this problem? Well, not to sound like a younger version of Richard Stallman with a shorter beard, but “This is why the GPL v3 has a new section to prohibit this behavior.” Or, more succinctly, “JUST USE GPL V3 AND WE WOULDN’T HAVE THIS PROBLEM YOU IDIOTS!” :mrgreen: He might seem a little crazy, but he usually proves to be right.

Leave a Reply

